Auditor-General’s Results of 2017–18 Audits: Local Government

The raw data supports our interactive visualisation tool dashboard which summarises the financial statement data for Victoria’s 79 councils for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 financial years. We grouped councils into five cohorts based on size, demographics and funding: • metropolitan—predominately urban in character and located within Melbourne’s densely populated urban core • interface—one of the nine municipalities that form a ring around metropolitan Melbourne • regional city—urban and partly rural in character • large shire—a municipality with more than 16 000 inhabitants that is predominantly rural in character • small shire—a municipality with less than 16 000 inhabitants that is predominantly rural in character. The cohorts are consistent with Local Government Victoria’s classification of council types.

Data and Resources

Additional Information

Field Value
Created (Data Asset) 12/12/2019
Published (Metadata record) 12/12/2019
Last updated 12/12/2019
Organisation Victorian Auditor General's Office
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International