Know Your Council - Local Government Performance Reporting

The Local Government Performance Reporting Framework (LGPRF) is a mandatory system of performance reporting for all Victorian councils. It ensures that councils are measuring and reporting on their performance in a consistent way to promote transparency and accountability in the local government sector.

The framework is made up of 59 measures from a range of service areas, including roads, planning, animal management and waste. It is complemented by a Governance and Management checklist of 24 items, which shows the policies, plans and procedures in place at each council. Together, they build a comprehensive picture of council performance.

The Know Your Council website allows you to find your council and view profile details about each local government in Victoria.

Know Your Council and the LGPRF have been developed by Local Government Victoria (LGV) within the Department of Government Services (DGS). Mandatory performance reporting became a requirement for local government from the 2014-15 local government annual budgeting and reporting cycle onwards.

When reviewing and analysing the full data set, it is important to acknowledge that:

  • the data in this data set may change as councils occasionally need to update their performance data ahead of their next Annual Report

  • the Variation commentary provided alongside the data should always be considered with any analysis or reporting of a council's data

  • variables in the data may not allow for accurate comparisons

As such, in downloading this data, you have agreed not to use the council performance data set to aid in the publication of overly simplistic league tables of councils.

Due to file size limitations LGV can only provide the 5 years of historical data. For further information please contact the team at:

Data and Resources

Additional Information

Field Value
Published (Metadata Record) 14/04/2023
Last updated 13/06/2024
Organisation Department of Government Services
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International