VEAC Metropolitan Melbourne Open Space Inventory

The dataset consists of polygons delineating areas of public land(1) and local council land(2) that have been classified as public open space. Polygon attributes describe the public open space category and owner. The datset covers 31 municipalities in metropolitan Melbourne.

The definition used to attribute a polyon as public open space is 'those areas of public land and local council land that have an accepted and ongoing community use for outdoor recreation and informal activities, and that are freely accessible to the public'.

The VEAC Metropolitan Melbourne Open Space Inventory does not include Commonwealth land; schools; cemeteries; gated facilities; road plantations; closed roads; concourses around stadia; inaccessible Trust for Nature properties; 'services and utilities' public land that does not have an ongoing recreational use; future open space (e.g. areas covered by Public Aquisition Overlays); and uncategorised public land.

  1. 'Public Land' is Crown land and freehold land owned by Victorian Government Agencies.

  2. 'Local Council Land' is freehold land owned by local councils.

Data and Resources

  • Use Order Resources to get access to spatial data in various formats and extents.

    You are being asked to supply a valid email address, so we can notify you via email when your data is ready to download.


    VEAC Metropolitan Melbourne Open Space Inventory

    • WMS URL

      Please check this box to confirm you accept and agree to comply with our Terms of Use and Copyright and Attribution requirements including any attribution specified on this page. You must comply with the relevant Licence requirements for each dataset.

Additional Information

Field Value
Published (Metadata record) 12/11/2014
Last updated 30/03/2020
Organisation Department of Environment, Land, Water & Planning
License Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International
Data temporal coverage: 31/12/2020 to 30/08/2011
Full metadata URL